2015 OCCAC All-Conference team named

2015 OCCAC All-Conference team named

By Nicholas Huenefeld/OCCAC Sports Information

The Owens Community College women's volleyball team swept through the conference regular season this year. Today, that play was rewarded as Macy Reigelsperger was named the OCCAC Player of the Year and head coach Sonny Lewis was named the OCCAC Coach of the Year.

In addition to that, the all-conference teams were announced.

Reigelsperger, a sophomore middle blocker for Owens, had 178 kills with a .351 hitting percentage over 45 sets in conference play. She added seven assists, 79 digs and 49 blocks (21 solo). Overall, she has 500 kills (.337 hitting percentage), nine assists, 15 aces, 245 digs and 148 blocks (50 solo).

Owens finished the regular season at 34-6 overall and 14-0 in OCCAC play to win the outright OCCAC championship. Lewis won his first OCCAC Coach of the Year award since 2011. It's his eighth overall since joining Owens in 2001.

This year's First Team All-OCCAC selections include: Reigelsperger, Erika Hartings (Owens), Brooke Gyori (Owens), Meg Reineke (Sinclair), Alexandra Petri (Sinclair), Rebecca Robben (Cincinnati State), Claire Gerhardstein (Cincinnati State), Brett Bey (Columbus State), Julia Wynn (Columbus State), Jessica Fontana (Lakeland), Kady Whitsel (Lorain County) and Emily Mandoke (Lorain County).

Reineke led the conference in total kills (276) and Robben led the way in digs (358), while Fontana had the most solo blocks (82) and total blocks (101).

Honorable Mention All-OCCAC selections include: Faith Gerhardstein (Cincinnati State), Kelsey Rammel (Columbus State), Holly Hoffman (Cuyahoga), Jordan Talevski (Lakeland), Maryssa Kellick (Lorain County), Ally Mikesell (Owens), Melissa Mireles (Sinclair) and Brianna Wells-Barnes (Edison).

Kellick led the conference in aces (36) and Gehardstein had the most assisted blocks (56).

Owens also won the Region XII District F tournament this past weekend. Reigelsperger was named the tournament MVP, and the team will advance to the NJCAA Division II National Tournament in Phoenix, Ariz. Nov. 19-21.